Tehiyah Day School

Skip to main content

Curriculum Mapping

Curriculum Maps
Curriculum development and review is a school-wide, on-going, and dynamic process involving all grade levels and subject areas at Tehiyah Day School. Using the web-based Atlas Curriculum Mapping Program, we have formally detailed the scope and sequence of our entire program, enabling us to more readily analyze the arc of learning across grades and subject areas.Through the use of the Atlas program we are able to review and analyze the scope and sequence of our curriculum both within and across grade levels to ensure the appropriate content and skill progression throughout our Bridge-K through Eighth Grade program.As you peruse our maps you will notice that some subject areas are more complete than others. The format and framework in the online mapping template is extensive and detailed. We are constantly re-examining and revising our maps to improve our curriculum and integration; as our students’ needs change our curriculum must address this. As a result, some areas can appear more fully developed than others. Each year our teachers review their subject area maps as we identify additional opportunities within our curriculum for improvement or better integration of our educational process.
Understanding by Design – Our Guiding Philosophy
The guiding philosophy behind our curriculum mapping process is the Understanding by Design (UbD) framework as developed by the nationally recognized educators Grant Wiggins and Jay McTighe. UbD focuses on two key components: backwards design and six facets of understanding.
Backwards Design
Using the backwards design model of curriculum development, the design process begins by identifying the desired results and then “works backwards” to develop instruction. This is significantly different than the traditional approach to curriculum development, in which one defines what topics need to be covered as the starting point.The framework for Backwards Design identifies three main stages:
  • Stage 1: Identify desired outcomes and results.
  • Stage 2: Determine what constitutes acceptable evidence of competency in the outcomes and results (assessment).
  • Stage 3: Plan instructional strategies and learning experiences that bring students to these competency levels.
Six Facets of Understanding
The “six facets of understanding” guiding our curriculum development are to create a program in which, for each subject studied, students are able to explain, interpret, apply, have perspective, empathize, and have self-knowledge about a given topic.Using these two key components, Tehiyah’s curriculum is comprehensive and student-centered, providing a fully integrated approach to learning in a carefully constructed educational program.
Access to Maps
To access the maps, click here. This will take you the RubiconAtlas website.Understanding by Design®  and UbD are registered trademarks of the Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development (“ASCD”).
Back to top